I am new to SV, and now I will make Onglets on Friday for some friends. The hanger steak is a supportive muscle, rather than active muscle, so it is more tender than a muscle the animal uses a lot, the leg for example. Bonus pic of the full meal. Then you can cook them along with the larger piece(s) and try them. Found this page on Google when trying to figure out how best to sous vide a hanger steak. Cuts of beef have different names everywhere, which can make it quite confusing. Usually the hangars I've worked with are more triangular in their cross-section shape, but this looks more rectangular and full. These are the same enzymes that are at work when meat is aged at refrigerator temperatures (both for dry aging and for aging in vacuum), but much faster and (compared to dry aging) without drying the meat. The typical hanger steak weighs about one pound. They came frozen in four 10 pound vacuum bags with each bag holding four complete hanger steaks with the membrane (unseparated). In fact, the chance of getting food poisoning from a steak prepared like this (and I mean a steak from intact muscle meat beef from a reputable butcher, not ground meat or chicken) is closer to 1 in 50 million! You know you have a standing invitation for dinner, just let me know when I can expect you What a great meal! Vonden longhaas moeilijk goed te bereiden. Melt butter in a pan, sauté garlic and thyme in it. Whereas traffic incidents occur 1 in 6500 (in the US). Congrats, turned out awesome, and yeah, like many others, can't find it for a reasonable price at all. Hi Dave, Lovel the post, Stefan. Hi Stefan. Or get out your fancy Sous-vide machine and let it bring it to a perfect medium rare. I was then able to split them into two two steaks by cutting along the membrane line with a sharp knife. Cook for a bit over medium heat to make a quick sauce. When the steak is ready, place the vacuum sealed steak in a sous vide water bath at 135°F (57°C) and cook for 2 hours. OK Stephen. I foun